let there be clouds! (anxious and excited about the weekend)

Since I learned that May 1, Labor Day, fell on a weekend, I’ve been really hanging on “confirming” what weekday it will be moved. Somewhere in my memory slot, I remember that it is the only legal holiday that should be celebrated on a weekday, else, how would we, laborers, celebrate (read: be paid during a valid restday workday!) it if it’s not a to occur on a weekday?

I’ve been asking around if they would have heard or read about moving May 1 – Labor Day – Saturday to a Friday or a Monday… nada.

Because I was planning for a holiday mode. Selfish, I know.

But then, the announcement came a little too late for me to make arrangements anymore. And poof was the trek to Mt. Calavite. Sigh!

The good thing was, my outing-hungry clique back home encircled May 2 as the official get-together come-as-you-are-with-every-family-member-you-can-grab-and-bring-along event. So off we planned private-pool hunting last Sunday after a very filling lunch over at the Vargas’.

Hands down I said. A cousin runs a private pool right at their backyard in our our almost-never-heard municipality of Pandi. And with the sun mighty up and shining, scorching our noses and skins, we (JR, Macoy+Luvim+MJ, Roz and Mwahself) went motor biking to check out the place. It may be the heat, the exhaustion, or just the urge to set an ACTUAL date, we booked the place (and the overnight A/C room and videoke) for 1 day and 1 night, on May 2, Sunday.

And May 3 hasn’t been declared as the official Labor Day that time. If GMA has declared April 30 as the holiday, we would all be tired and spent out going to work on a Monday.

I mean, my friends on official work mode (although, most of them are teachers or school employees on “vacation”, really) would be. Just got my new sched you see. Sunday and Monday are day-offs ni Inday.

Ahh, no double pay for LHWD for me. How can I recover the cost of the sunblock’s steep price? Buhuhu!

About walangmalay

Walang Malay is a figment of sentiments, of wonders and perplexities, of ideologies and dreams, of anything about something. Ako ito, walang malay... o nawalan ng kamalayan...

Posted on April 30, 2010, in Beerkada, Blogroll, Introspections, Jakulit. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

