Night Shift

B and I are not talking as often as before anymore. We seldom see each other anymore. We don’t exchange stories — about bloopers, habits, acquaintances, dreams — like we used to anymore. It has been a “quiet” two weeks.

I don’t find him writing on his daily journal when I arrive home. But then, still, when he has the energy to cook after a tiring work shift, I would find a ready meal on our little dining table, then I would eat as silently as I could, not wanting him to be disturbed as he sleeps through the “night”.

Then it’s my turn to prepare the meal, when I have some energy left to cook, too (and when we have stocks in the fridge),  so that when he wakes up, he can be at least half-full. Most often, which is always, B cooks most of our meals. He has a better hand and taste buds, you see.

Sometimes, I would still be awake (at least, half of my consciousness is) when he wakes up. Or I would find him half-awake when I arrive.

Funny.

We live in the same house. But we don’t see each other as often as before. Yet, this is not unusual. Just a typical schedule for typical vampire workers.

It’s high noon. I’m dead tired already. Tech support calls were not as many as the past few days but since it’s my end-of-week shift, I am almost spent. And B? He probably have gone to the province for the weekend. But I still have an overtime shift tonight. So I guess I won’t be seeing a dead-to-the-world B when I come home, and there won’t be a ready meal on the table.

Time to go to the market and buy some stocks again. B promised he’ll cook tinola. I have to buy the ingredients so he’ll be forced to make good with his promise. Haha!

About walangmalay

Walang Malay is a figment of sentiments, of wonders and perplexities, of ideologies and dreams, of anything about something. Ako ito, walang malay... o nawalan ng kamalayan...

Posted on April 24, 2010, in Introspections, Jakulit. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

